I would like to climb Mt. Hood with an experienced group

Trip recommendations, current conditions, and other trail related Q&A
Marshalltb

I would like to climb Mt. Hood with an experienced group

Post by Marshalltb » July 28th, 2010, 12:13 am

Hello, I am inquiring about climbing Mt. Hood this summer. A bit about myself... I am a 26 male in good physical condition. I am running the portlandxterra triathlon in three weeks and am an avid runner and hiker, but also spend a fair amount of time mountain biking, doing yoga, and lifting weights. I do not have a lot of climbing background, however do have my own harness and shoes, and go climbing with friends sometimes, so I have some basic knowledge.

I am hoping to climb Mt. Hood sometime between August 15 and September 20th. I can provide my own equipment if necessary, however would rather rent or borrow (I would replace anything that was lost or broken of course) the equipment as I am a student and do not have a lot of money. I am hoping to find a solid group of people to do it with. By solid, I mean a group of people that have all done it before, are skilled and experienced, and take a professional approach to the climb.

I am very serious about accomplishing this feat before I go back to school the end of September. Please write me back via this forum or e-mail me at [email protected] if you would like to talk more personally. I live in Hood River and would be willing to meet up in person if you would like to talk about it before setting any actual plans.

Any information ya'll could give me to point me in the right direction would be very helpful!

Thank you,

Marshall Baxter

Jane

Re: I would like to climb Mt. Hood with an experienced group

Post by Jane » July 28th, 2010, 9:09 am