Recommendation for 1-week hikes in SEKI backcountry?

Trip recommendations, current conditions, and other trail related Q&A
SWriverstone

Recommendation for 1-week hikes in SEKI backcountry?

Post by SWriverstone » May 2nd, 2017, 7:22 am

Hi All:

I'm new to the west coast and very much want to spend some quality time this summer (timing is flexible) experiencing the High Sierras, never having been there. I plan to hike the JMT next summer, but I'd love to get a taste of what to expect.

So I'm seeking suggestions for a one-week backpacking trip in Sequoia/Kings Canyon (NP/wilderness) that includes some of the best it has to offer. My hope is that it's possible to get far enough into the backcountry in a week to experience some of what the JMT offers.

I'm in good shape, but don't want this to be a death march, LOL. Distances in the 10-15mi/day range would be ideal; I don't want to be "hiking on the clock" and have little time to appreciate the scenery. On the other hand, I might be willing to do longer days if they're necessary to get into the "real" backcountry.

I'll be scouring maps and researching this myself, but I'd welcome any suggestions.

Thanks!
Scott

SCtoPDX

Re: Recommendation for 1-week hikes in SEKI backcountry?

Post by SCtoPDX » May 2nd, 2017, 1:42 pm

I would post this question to Highsierratopix.com...there is a TON of info on there!

alpinista55

Post by alpinista55 » May 2nd, 2017, 3:25 pm

Hi Scott,

I've spent the past two summers hiking in SEKI, and am returning this summer for another trip. Here are two suggestions: