Wildland fire Google + GIS map

Cartography, maps, navigation, GPS and more.
Post Reply
Joseph Elfelt
Posts: 155
Joined: September 3rd, 2010, 10:24 am
Contact:

Wildland fire Google + GIS map

Post by Joseph Elfelt » July 6th, 2017, 1:38 pm

I have tuned up my fire map and all the GIS overlay layers are in working order. In addition to the MODIS hotspot data there are also two other fire detection layers. They are VIIRS and HMS.

Also new are two basemaps showing “near real time” color satellite imagery from NASA. One of these basemaps will always show yesterday and one will always show today. The “today” imagery for the USA is not posted to the NASA GIS server until about 4pm pacific time. It is absolutely amazing that we can see this kind of imagery so soon after it is collected. For a large fire you may see the burn scar and smoke.

For more info please click “Map Tips” in the upper left corner.

Fire map
https://mappingsupport.com/p/gmap4.php? ... fire_3.txt

User avatar
kepPNW
Posts: 6346
Joined: June 21st, 2012, 9:55 am
Location: Salmon Creek

Re: Wildland fire Google + GIS map

Post by kepPNW » July 6th, 2017, 2:20 pm

Can you comment on your data sources for fire? Noticing the Eagle Creek fire, currently burning, doesn't show up yet. Thanks!

Edit: I probably should've read the Map Tips before asking, which I guess explains a bit. :oops:
Karl
Back on the trail, again...

(Photos · PortlandHikers)

Joseph Elfelt
Posts: 155
Joined: September 3rd, 2010, 10:24 am
Contact:

Re: Wildland fire Google + GIS map

Post by Joseph Elfelt » July 6th, 2017, 2:37 pm

The Eagle Creek fire is reported to be "smoldering". So it might not be hot enough to be seen as a 'fire' by the satellites.

The map has 3 data layers that show fire detection data sensed by different satellites.
Those layers are MODIS, VIIRS and HMS.

Yup, the "Map Tips" have useful info. In particular, please click the MODIS hotspot button and read the disclaimers which explain why MODIS data might (1) show false positives and (2) also not show certain real fires.

Webfoot
Posts: 1186
Joined: November 25th, 2015, 11:06 am
Location: Troutdale

Re: Wildland fire Google + GIS map

Post by Webfoot » July 6th, 2017, 10:30 pm

gmap4 is not working for me. My browser gets stuck on "Map is loading." I have my ad-blocker turned off. Can you offer any suggestions for troubleshooting?

Joseph Elfelt
Posts: 155
Joined: September 3rd, 2010, 10:24 am
Contact:

Re: Wildland fire Google + GIS map

Post by Joseph Elfelt » July 7th, 2017, 4:26 am

Odd. Working fine at my end.

Can you try a different browser?
Can you try a different device?

What device is giving trouble?
What operating system is that device using?

User avatar
retired jerry
Posts: 12762
Joined: May 28th, 2008, 10:03 pm

Re: Wildland fire Google + GIS map

Post by retired jerry » July 7th, 2017, 5:07 am

it just worked for me - chrome on a PC

Webfoot
Posts: 1186
Joined: November 25th, 2015, 11:06 am
Location: Troutdale

Re: Wildland fire Google + GIS map

Post by Webfoot » July 7th, 2017, 9:19 am

Apparently my preferred browser has become unsupported. Sorry for the derail.

Post Reply