Where to start discussions about cartography?

Cartography, maps, navigation, GPS and more.
Adventure Mapper

Where to start discussions about cartography?

Post by Adventure Mapper » October 18th, 2012, 8:32 am

I see that there is a lot of discussion about GPS, GIS, cartography, and maps that is spread across the topics. I'm interested in learning and contributing on this subject. I have a lot of experience making maps for wilderness exploration. Cartography is like photography or botany or geology or archeology, it enhances the wilderness experience. Would it be possible to concentrate the communication on this subject under "Gear and Goodies"? It would be similar to "Photography". This would be a place to discuss the ways to use LiDAR data that is available for many places in Oregon and Washington. It might also be a place where off-trail hikers can learn where to get property boundary data and load this into their GPS receivers.

Hope I put this question in the right place. I'll post some example maps and start some discussion about cartography for wilderness exploration if there is a good place in the forums.

raven

Re: Where to start discussions about cartography?

Post by raven » October 18th, 2012, 9:33 pm

A dedicated forum under Gear and Goodies sounds good to me - and good for my interests as a lurker. However, there's more to the subject than mere cartography, so I suggest calling the new forum "Maps and Navigation".

Adventure Mapper

Post by Adventure Mapper » October 19th, 2012, 9:17 am

Indeed it would be good to cover equipment such as GPS receiver, compass, and altimeter. Also, Geographic Information System (GIS) software and data formats may be of interest.

Navigation skills would also be included. I have a few hand drawn maps from Russ Jolley and it is interesting to compare his estimates of where his trails were with the accurate GPS track. He was really good where there are distinctive land forms but some places he was pretty far off.