what to expect from SAR

Share your tips for safe hiking, surviving in the wild and managing hiking injuries!
Mukluk

what to expect from SAR

Post by Mukluk » March 25th, 2017, 12:26 pm

I'm a novice hiker/snowshoer. My trips so far are < 4 miles, but even so on less popular trails I've been struck by how few people one sees, especially in winter. I'm wondering what kind of response to expect in a couple of situations.

So far I've mostly been exploring Mt Hood area and cell phone reception is pretty good. If I call 911 with an emergency a couple miles out on a trail (say serious injury and can't get out on my own) and can give them a location, who's going to come and how long will it take?

What about if I don't return and my family calls?

Yes, I have the essentials and have been acquiring a few more things to deal with common issues (blister kit, splint, etc).

Thanks in advance!

squidvicious

Re: what to expect from SAR

Post by squidvicious » March 25th, 2017, 1:34 pm

There are people here with direct experience of rescuing and being rescued who can answer far better, but just for some context: those kids from Texas who got into trouble on the Multnomah Falls trail recently? From the news reports, it was about 2 hours between when they called for help and when crews first reached them. And they were practically within sight of the lodge, at a trailhead that literally has its own freeway exit. Even a straightforward rescue where they know exactly where you are is not quick.

retired jerry

Post by retired jerry » March 25th, 2017, 1:56 pm

yeah, there are experts here

I've noticed sometimes they wait until the next day to set off finding someone. You better be able to get by for a day or two.

Lurch

Post by Lurch » March 27th, 2017, 8:45 am

I'm guessing "It depends.." wouldn't be a satisfactory answer? 2-24 hours?