Ham Radios

Share your tips for safe hiking, surviving in the wild and managing hiking injuries!
Koda

Ham Radios

Post by Koda » September 23rd, 2014, 4:57 pm

I have no experience with them. We often discuss PLB or communication devices (SPOT, Sat Phones...) which are usually expensive and I don't know why its escaped me until now but... just something I'm curious about, specifically the compact ones, Ham radios. They are affordable and compact enough to consider taking outdoors. Wikipedia says they can be used for private communication, emergency communication and "a variety of voice, text, image, and data communications modes and have access to frequency allocations throughout the RF spectrum to enable communication across a city, region, country, continent, the world, or even into space."

sounds like the perfect device...?

Correct me if I am wrong: don't Ham Radios give the operator an excellent range far beyond cellphone tower range limitations? And if so, would the compact ones reach out the same? Would the compact ones reach out far enough to be reliable at all times all places outdoors? And if so... is there an "emergency" channel?

Yes, I know you need a license to operate one. Side topic: Anyone know the process and how much?

I'm thinking along the lines of one like this for only $40... http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00KDRV91E?psc=1

Lastly, I thought about posting this in the gear section but any interest in this would be for emergency use outdoors.
lightweight, cheap, strong... pick 2

Lurch

Re: Ham Radios

Post by Lurch » September 23rd, 2014, 5:13 pm

There is a lot you could do with a legit HAM, and yes you could reach out much further than a normal cellphone.

That said, they require a bit more technical expertise to use properly and get the most out of the unit. We could dive into that if you REALLY want to, and there's probably people on the boards here with far more expertise than me.