Buying a new Superzoom camera—any recommendations?

Camera Gear, How-To, Questions
SWriverstone

Buying a new Superzoom camera—any recommendations?

Post by SWriverstone » March 11th, 2016, 9:41 pm

I'm an experienced photographer/videographer. I've owned and used DSLR's for a long time (including during the film days). Maybe 10 years ago, I bought one of the earliest Canon "superzoom" cameras, the S2 IS. I loved this camera, and it totally sold me on the superzoom concept. I took thousands of amazing photos with this camera, and there was even a fantastic aftermarket, machined aluminum lens barrel for it that protected the telescoping lens.

Alas, one day several years ago I left this camera on top of a mountain on a mountain biking trip (I know stupid—I was exhausted near the end of an epic ridge ride.) For some reason, I never replaced it, going back instead to DSLR's.

Flash forward to now: I own 3 DSLRs (a Nikon D70, a Canon T2i, and a Canon 70D)...and I've barely used any of them for personal photography in years. They just sit at home. Why? The obvious reason—they're too damned big and heavy! I don't like hauling them on my motorcycle, my mountain bike, or even on my own two feet.

As a somewhat disappointing result (call it inertia), almost all my photography over the past few years has been with the camera that I've always had—my iPhone 5. I've always known that iPhone still cameras are mediocre (lousy in low light, crap telephoto ability, etc.) But they're convenient, and I always have mine. (I tried an iPhone 6 for a while—and thought it's camera was crap too, in spite of all the hype.)