file size for posting photos

Camera Gear, How-To, Questions
outdoorfoodie

file size for posting photos

Post by outdoorfoodie » July 3rd, 2014, 10:23 pm

Newbie here. I'm having trouble posting photos to the site - they are timing out. I thought maybe it was because tif files were too large, but jpgs aren't working either. Are there some sizing specs I should know about?

Steve20050

Re: file size for posting photos

Post by Steve20050 » July 3rd, 2014, 11:50 pm

The size I believe needs to be under 1mb to upload. I shoot film so store a lot of tiff files. Usually I just decide how many pixels across I want them to be for viewing, then convert them to jpeg (necessary) and compress them to a size under 1mb and they will upload. There are many folks here better at this than I am, but this is the basics. It will just take a little practice to find what you like. I do a lot of panoramas so my files tend to be longer in pixels than other folks and my files are from 500mb to 1.5 gig, so really a bit larger than normal. Most of my uploads are usually 1000 to 1200 across when resized, though I think that most folks use 600 or so across, however not positive on this. Upload a few and see what you like when opened. Some of mine have been pretty bad, but it's like anything it just takes some practice and if you don't like what you see there is always the edit button ;).

Peder

Post by Peder » July 4th, 2014, 1:27 am

Using the site's picture system, the maximum picture size is 1 mb and a maximum of 20 pictures in a post. If you upload your pictures to Flickr, there is no size limit and you can easily post an unlimited number of big beautiful pictures in your trip report! There is a thread at the very top of the Trip Report forum on posting pictures from your computer, maybe that can help.
Some people are really fit at eighty; thankfully I still have many years to get into shape…

outdoorfoodie

Post by outdoorfoodie » July 4th, 2014, 7:12 am