Ursacks - good investment?

Ask questions and share your experiences with hiking & backpacking gear, and share trail recipes and gadget tips. Please see classifieds forum for buying/selling stuff.
Excursionista

Ursacks - good investment?

Post by Excursionista » July 13th, 2008, 9:24 am

Started a new thread rather than hijack the discussion about food protection.

Sarbar said:
"I use an Ursack bag (www.ursack.com) or a Bear Vault canister. I have been using the Ursack since around 2002. One of the few places where I have had an animal test one of my two Ursacks was on Eagle Creek and it was a small bear."

Naturally, Ursack's website lists a bunch of glowing backpacker testimonials. I'm wondering if anyone on the forum has used these products before. I've been casually looking for a bear canister (mostly to protect against rodents) but I hate the weight; is an Ursack a good investment? Strangely, this is the first I've heard of it.

Spoonie_B

Re: Ursacks - good investment?

Post by Spoonie_B » July 13th, 2008, 9:58 am

I've used an Ursack for a couple years and never had anything get in. Of course, I can't tell you whether anything's tried. I've also not really backpacked in grizz country.

Grannyhiker

Post by Grannyhiker » July 13th, 2008, 8:40 pm

I've used an Ursack for several years now. Since I'm the world's worst thrower, it would take me half a day to hang a bear bag, with resulting severe arthritis in my shoulders. The only testers of my Ursack so far have been squirrels, and it seemed to foil them.

National parks where bears (or, in the case of the Olympic coast, raccoons) have been habituated generally require hard-sided canisters. They can be rented quite cheaply ($3 in Olympic NP). The Ursack seems to be a failure in the Sierra, where the bears have all been conditioned that anything in a bag = pinata and keep working and working until they finally get it open. But elsewhere it seems to work just fine when used as directed.