First summit climb request

Introduce yourself to the group! We welcome novice and expert alike! We especially love hearing from those new to Portland and those new to hiking
jpalladino

First summit climb request

Post by jpalladino » September 6th, 2022, 12:50 pm

Hi everyone, I'm new to Oregon hikers. I'm retired and looking for a new and challenging adventure in 2023, seeking any advice to prepare for next year or hike with a group to a summit. My goal is to climb either Bachelor, Adams or a suggested mountain for a first timer. I'm willing to pay for a guide if that service is available.
A little about myself; I'm a 63 yr. old athlete, ready to go! I compete/train for Ironman's and Olympic distance triathlons. Last month, I completed the Alcatraz Island 1.5-mile swim and one triathlon, yesterday I swam across the Columbia 1.1 miles, from Stevenson to Cascade Locks. This year's new adventure was learning to row on the Willamette with a local club and I hope to race in my first regatta in October. I'm an Army veteran, have accumulated over 300+ skydives and am a certified scuba diver.
I'm open to your thoughts. Thanks Jeff

adamschneider

Re: First summit climb request

Post by adamschneider » September 6th, 2022, 1:10 pm

If you're looking to climb a big mountain, the best ones for beginners are Mt. St. Helens and South Sister. They require no special training or equipment.

retired jerry

Post by retired jerry » September 6th, 2022, 1:29 pm

Adams is not technically difficult. No rockfall or crevasses to fall into like Hood.

I did the Mazama climbing school before climbing Mt Hood.

Aimless

Post by Aimless » September 6th, 2022, 1:46 pm