when is it acceptable to post an "off trail" trip report?

Discussions and Trip Reports for off-trail adventures and rediscovering lost trails
Koda

when is it acceptable to post an "off trail" trip report?

Post by Koda » October 5th, 2011, 9:38 am

I am still learning the ethic, so I would like to hear what others think about [publicly] posting TR's on "off trail" (or similar) adventures?

My thoughts:
I do several off trail destination trips a year that I do not post... prefer them actually and while I would not mind bumping into like minded ethical hikers out there most places I go I would hate to see the masses destructive footprint. Technology is making it easier and easier to venture out farther, and its my opinion there are some places that are best left to the imagination of those skilled enough to make the trip.

Just curious what others think about the subject?
lightweight, cheap, strong... pick 2

Lurch

Re: when is it acceptable to post an "off trail" trip report

Post by Lurch » October 5th, 2011, 10:30 am

I think there are a number of people out there who could definitely benefit from OT reports and adventures. There is one obvious solution that I can think of, but I doubt it would be popular around here. That would be to make a locked forum that people must request access to, and/or be vetted. The forum software is more than capable, of either having a hidden forum that people can request access to, or a publicly visible forum that requires a password to gain access to.

I have a bit of an odd perspective on this, so maybe I should justify my reasoning.