Good hike for Sunday?

Trip recommendations, current conditions, and other trail related Q&A
Matuas

Good hike for Sunday?

Post by Matuas » March 16th, 2017, 10:20 am

Hey folks. I'm new to Portland and am looking to finally get out on a good medium-difficulty hike this weekend (since Sunday is looking fairly not-rainy). Are there any hikes that may not be super muddy or snowy? Or is it just too early in the season?

We've got a dog as well, so anything dog-friendly is a plus.

Thanks for the help!

kelkev

Re: Good hike for Sunday?

Post by kelkev » March 16th, 2017, 4:42 pm

Except for the dog, Silver Falls State Park east of Salem is always a good choice this time of year (no dogs on the canyon waterfall trail). I was just there today, several muddy spots but nothing unmanageable with hiking boots (preferably waterproof). The waterfalls are a raging torrent right now. Probably will be busy on Sunday, but it's a great spring hike if you don't mind the puddles here and there and negotiating a few muddy spots.
"Going to the mountains is going home."
— John Muir

squidvicious

Post by squidvicious » March 16th, 2017, 9:11 pm

A go-to Sunday hike for me is Dry Creek Falls, since it's one of the few easily accessible gorge trails you can do on the weekend with easy parking and not full of people-- once you're past the actual falls. More specifically, I normally skip Dry Creek Falls itself and go out and back from Cascade Locks trailhead to Herman Creek bridge.