White Cloud Mnts, Idaho (August 3-8, 2013)

This forum is used to share your experiences out on the trails.
Water

White Cloud Mnts, Idaho (August 3-8, 2013)

Post by Water » September 18th, 2013, 9:50 pm

20.0 miles, 8000' gained, 5 night(s)

Bucket and I had been jonesing to get to the White Clouds or Sawtooths for a few years now. But one thing or another stepped in the way, backpacking trips to Canada, time on a friend's wonderful ranch in Montana, fires in Idaho... But eventually things came together. We had a solid block of time before getting to a wedding at said wonderful ranch at the end of the week.

In large part this was inspired by awildman -- much thanks should go out to her for her beta and reassurance to somewhat acrophobic Bucket that there would be nothing more involved than some 'challenging' hiking -- aka no cliffs, no mantle-worthy scramble moves, etc. Thank you for those reassurances!

Needless to say this turned into much more of a backpacking/lake-enjoying trip than a mileage jaunt intended to 'cover the most terrain and see as much as possible' -- a common heuristic trap I fall into when exploring new areas.

Day 1: Burgers and good Beer overlooking the Salmon River and the Sawtooths in Stanely, Id. Camped at the 4th of July TH as it was near-dusk and didn't seem to be much gained by doing a few miles when the total to the first night's camp was going to be around 8.

Day 2: 4th of July TH to Antz Basin and Boorn/Born (?) Lakes basin and then off trail to the 4 lakes basin. Scenic. And that is a huge understatement. Lots of big views, beautiful old trees that look like stained teak, flowers, and some ground squirrels. Off trail was easy enough, the high lakes just have such wonderful colors. Ended up at Quiet Lake... which was pretty quiet. Beautiful along the backside of Castle Mountain/Merriman Peak, serrate ridge. Fishing with no bites in the evening..