A few thoughts on the broadcasting of little-known places...

General discussions on hiking in Oregon and the Pacific Northwest
SWriverstone

A few thoughts on the broadcasting of little-known places...

Post by SWriverstone » March 6th, 2016, 9:14 pm

I'm fairly new to Oregon—moved here from West Virginia a year ago. In the Appalachians, it's safe to say there is nothing that hasn't been thoroughly explored (the surrounding population and history are just too dense). So I'm fascinated by the existence of places here in the west that are so far removed from even the outdoor crowd that they seem entirely unknown (whether they really are or not).

As a child, I loved exploring new/old places—places that I knew hadn't seen footsteps in a very long time. I wrote about this in an essay on Medium.

So it's natural that as an outdoor-loving adult, I've always sought places that are off the well-trodden path. When exploring opportunities for hikes in a new place (like Oregon), I usually avoid the popular places (with the exception of those "You've GOT to see them" destinations).

Like many, I spend a lot of time online (especially in winter) researching future hikes and adventures. So it didn't take me long to find the OFG episode on Valhalla. It also didn't take me long to find (and read) the seemingly hundreds of posts here and elsewhere about it (during which process I found the name Hyperbole Canyon—a name I like much better, and will use).

Not long after, I discovered Devils Staircase (and the proposed wilderness area surrounding it). And once again, there was some controversy over the trailhead (such as it is) being revealed to the masses.